Why whole food, plant – based diet?

So, many people ask me: ‘why are you vegan?’ Followed by: “You are qualified BSc (hons) nutritionist, surely that can’t be good for you.”

Well, actually, it can. The American Dietetic Association recently released it’s position of vegan and vegetarian diet. It stated that a planned vegetarian and vegan diet can be healthy and nutritiously adequate.

A whole food, plant-based diet is very high in health promoting compounds (ie, antioxidants) and low in health damaging compounds (saturated fat and cholesterol).

So, below I have listed some of the benefits and reason I advocate a whole food, plant-based diet to my clients.

Health benefits:

– Reduced risk of cancers (colorectal, prostate, stomach and breast)

– Reduced risk of cardiovascular disease

– Reversal of Atherosclerosis

– Reduction in blood pressure

– Improved blood glucose control

– Management and reversal of T2DM

– Decreased weight and body fat

– Increased energy

– Improved athletic recovery and performance

Environmental Benefits:

– Less CO2 emission

– Less deforestation

Moral Benefits:

– Increase availability of food

– Minimise cruelty to animal

Do we need anymore reason? 🙂

So, enjoy the sun!!! Take it as a great opportunity to kick out the confort foods and adopt a whole food, plant-based diet. Eat lots of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts and seeds.

Sca

Xx 🙂

Ps. As a nutritionist I must also acknowledge my patient’s habits and food preferences and counsel them to make healthier choices and achieve optimum nutrition.

2 thoughts on “Why whole food, plant – based diet?

  1. Thank you, suggestions for better results would be great!|I am a 14 year old male and am already in pretty good shape and pretty lean, but I don’t have abs or anything like that. I’m going to do the Insanity workout sometime this year, and I’m wondering if it will give me at least some definition. Will it?

  2. I am moderately overweight guy, planning to go on a weight loss plan to get my self fit and get the body I’ve always wanted. So before I start on this, I want to know if I really have to be supper hardcore fan of sports, like really devote most of my time to it? I see a lot of the guys who are ripped are usually mad about sports and gym. I’m not much of a sports person, so to be a fan of sports is gonna be a big challenge for me. Is there anyway out of it? Like if just go for a jog 4 times a week and gym twice a week, will it help? I need motivation guys, please give me some advice! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

